June Books

Today I am sharing the books I read in June.

Here are my reading goals for 2023:
1. Read 250 books. This includes the books I read to the kids, audiobooks, and anything I read for myself. 107 DONE
2. Read twelve (new to me) classics/award-winners. 4 DONE
3. Read twelve self-help/education books. 9 DONE
4. Re-read thirty books. There are so many good books I have been meaning to re-read, so this is my goal to help with that! 11 DONE

A few formatting notes:
1. I have inserted pictures as well as Amazon links to the books I enjoyed most for the month so that it is easier to read more about each book if you are interested. Hopefully, your local library system will carry most of these.
2. If I completed a more detailed review of any of these books, I included a review link after my comments.
3. If a book is not available yet, you will see the publication date in parenthesis after my comments.
4. I have rated each book using a bold numbered star after each comment.

The rating system is as follows:
*5-This book was so good, I either bought it, or think it is worth buying. I am pretty picky about the books I buy, so this is as good as it gets!
*4-This book was worth reading, but not necessarily worth buying-look for these books at your local library
*3-This book was just OK. I wouldn’t need to read it again.
*2-Don’t bother
*1-There probably won’t be any of these, because if it was THIS bad, I wouldn’t finish it. 🙂

Ooohhh….it was a light month for reading!

Part of that is due to the fact I have several books I am still in the middle of that I haven’t finished yet (at least eight!) Part of it is I have really been listening to more audiobooks and they take longer. Also, I am still struggling with the whole broken foot/hurt leg thing from April, and I haven’t felt like reading a bunch. I just had an MRI last week, so we will see what happens.

Anyway, enough of my reading sob story! 🙂

Here is what I read in June:

1. Sugar Cookie Mystery (Hannah Swenson #6) by Joanne Fluke (audiobook)-I am still really enjoying this series! *4

2. Doris the Bookasaurus by Dianna Murray-read this to The Little Guy-we just love this book-it’s a favorite for sure! *5
3. Let Your Mind Run by Deena Kastor (audiobook)-I enjoyed hearing about her running journey, but some of the words were a little too flowery/unbelievable for me *3
4. Peach Cobbler Murder (Hannah Swenson #7) by Joanne Fluke (audiobook)-another good one! *4
5. Nowhere Near First by Cory Reese-I really enjoyed this book-it was humorous, and had practical information *4
6. Cherry Cheesecake Murder (Hannah Swenson #8) by Joanne Fluke (audiobook)-good! *4

This month I read one book to the kids, and I read/listened to five books just for me.  I read zero picture books to myself for review.

For the year, I have read nineteen books to the kids and fifty-eight books just for me. I’ve also read thirty picture books to myself for review.

That’s it for today. I will share my July books the first Tuesday in August!