August Books

Today I am sharing the books I read in August.

Here are my reading goals for 2023:
1. Read 250 books. This includes the books I read to the kids, audiobooks, and anything I read for myself. 145 DONE
2. Read twelve (new to me) classics/award-winners. 4 DONE
3. Read twelve self-help/education books. 10 DONE
4. Re-read thirty books. There are so many good books I have been meaning to re-read, so this is my goal to help with that! 13 DONE

A few formatting notes:
1. I have inserted pictures as well as Amazon links to the books I enjoyed most for the month so that it is easier to read more about each book if you are interested. Hopefully, your local library system will carry most of these.
2. If I completed a more detailed review of any of these books, I included a review link after my comments.
3. If a book is not available yet, you will see the publication date in parenthesis after my comments.
4. I have rated each book using a bold numbered star after each comment.

The rating system is as follows:
*5-This book was so good, I either bought it, or think it is worth buying. I am pretty picky about the books I buy, so this is as good as it gets!
*4-This book was worth reading, but not necessarily worth buying-look for these books at your local library
*3-This book was just OK. I wouldn’t need to read it again.
*2-Don’t bother
*1-There probably won’t be any of these, because if it was THIS bad, I wouldn’t finish it. 🙂

This month, I really wanted to get back into the habit of reading to The Little Guy, so we read several books. It was also the start of the school year for us, so lots of back-to-school books and read alouds for that too.

Here is what I read in August:

1. We are Growing! by Laurie Keller-such a fun story! *4
2. Can I Play Too? by Mo Willems-one of our favorites! *5
3. I Love My New Toy! by Mo Willems-another great story! *5
4. The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson-fun *4
5. The Giving Tree by Shell Silverstein-always a classic *5
6. Disney’s The Three Musketeers-fun *3
7. I Will Surprise My Friend by Mo Willems-another good one *5
8. Are You Ready to Play Outside? by Mo Willems-fun *4
9. The Thank You Book by Mo Willems-good *3
10. We Are in a Book! by Mo Willems-good *3

11. For Whom the Book Tolls (Antique Bookshop Mystery #1) by Laura Gail Black-I really enjoyed this book! *4
12. Cream Puff Murder (Hannah Swenson #12) by Joanne Fluke (audiobook)-good *4
13. Murder by the Bookend (Antique Bookshop Mystery #2) by Laura Gail Black-good! *4
14. Bound by Murder (Antique Bookshop Myster #3) by Laura Gail Black-another good one, and I hope she writes more to this series! *4
15. The Shift by Gary Foster (audiobook)-I wanted to listen to this again this year, and I am glad I did *4
16. Apple Turnover Murder (Hannah Swenson #13) by Joanne Fluke (audiobook)-OK, but not my favorite *3

17. Teaching from Rest by Sarah Mackenzie-always excellent! *5
18. Gingerbread Cookie Murder (Hannah Swenson #13.5) by Joanne Fluke-good *4
19. Morris Goes to School by Bernard Wiseman-always fun *4
20. Pout Pout Fish Goes to School by Deborah Diesen-very good *5
21. Milk Goes to School by Terry Border-OK *3
22. Stand Up to Bullying by Jan and Mike Berenstain-OK *3
23. The Truth About Gossip by Jan and Mike Berenstain-OK *3
24. Blessed Are the Peacemakers by Jan and Mike Berenstain-OK *3
25. School Time Blessings by Jan and Mike Berenstain-OK *3
26. Pink Dinky Doo Back to School Is Cool by Jim Jinkins-good *4
27. Pinkalicious and the New Teacher by Victoria Kann-good *3
28. The Puffin Keeper by Michael Morpurgo-really interesting! *4

This month I read nineteen books to the kids, and I read/listened to eight books just for me.  I read one picture book to myself for review.

For the year, I have read thirty-eight books to the kids and seventy-six books just for me. I’ve also read thirty-one picture books to myself for review.

That’s it for today. I will share my September books the first Tuesday in October!